Saturday, March 10, 2012

Defiance by Shelly Crane

Title:  Defiance (Significance Series #3)
Author:  Shelly Crane
Publication Date:  March 8, 2012
Source:  E-Book
Rating:  5/5 Stars

Amazon   Barnes and Noble   Goodreads

Description (From Goodreads):  In the third installment of the Significance series, we begin with Maggie and Caleb in the clutches of a new enemy; the Virtuoso council. Not only do they have to deal with the consequences of taking the lives of the Watsons and the council attempting to take Maggie away to keep their precious Visionary safe, but they must deal with Marla as well. All are determined to undermine, control and use Caleb and Maggie's rare gifts for their own uses, some wish to destroy them entirely. Then Maggie's father and Bish are threatened but the council forbids the presence of humans. Peter and the family fight and stand beside them every step of the way to save Maggie's father, to keep Caleb and Maggie together when the corrupted council is so set on keeping them apart and to stop Marla and whatever she has up her sleeve. Then Maggie has the shock of her life when she discovers something about her real father. It may change everything for everyone. Stay tuned as the story continues.

My Thoughts:  Shelly Crane is absolutely amazing.  I really didn't think it could get any better than Significance and Accordance, the first two books in the series, but Shelly is obviously keeping the best wine for last.  I dare say that those of us who love Shelly's books probably won't be able to stand up after we read the next in the series.  Defiance seamlessly picks up where Accordance ends.  Caleb and Maggie are in London for the Reunification Ceremony along with the other Ace clans, including the Watson's.  The Watson's have had it out for Maggie and Caleb, since they found out about their imprinting, and they have always hated the Jacobson clan.  Not only do Maggie and Caleb have to deal with Marla and Marcus Watson, but also the Virtuoso council, whose head man is also a Watson.  Maggie is not only Caleb's significant, but she is also the long awaited Visionary the Ace's have been waiting for.  The Virtuoso leader, Donald Watson, tries to make Maggie and Caleb abide by "his rules," and it seems like they just can't catch a break.  Little does the Watson clan realize, that Maggie, Caleb, and the Jacobson clan aren't about to cave into their demands, and Maggie and Caleb kick some Watson butt.

Defiance is packed with heart-pounding action, edge-of-your seat suspense, and puddle in the floor swooning and romance.  There is not one dull moment in the whole book.  In addition, you will find out a lot about the history surrounding the Aces, their rules, the Virtuoso, and the last Visionary.  You also get to know some of the other characters in the series a little bit better in this book, which was very enjoyable.  Defiance is the type of book you want to devour in one sitting.  Shelly has you captivated from the first page all the way to the end of the book.  The storyline is absolutely incredible and the characters are all well-developed and easy to connect to. 

I am a sucker for the romance, and Shelly Crane always comes through in that area.  I love the relationship and the fierce and unconditional love that Caleb and Maggie have for one another.  Caleb is a total hottie and absolutely adorable.  Shelly has done a wonderful job of incorporating intense passion and romance in with action-packed drama that will leave you desperate for more. 

I think those of us who love Shelly Crane will be counting the seconds as we anxiously await the next installment in the Significance Series, and then we will all probably cry together when it is over.  Shelly is such a gifted and talented writer, and she has delivered a heart-capturing story in this book.  It is one you won't want to miss. 


Post a Comment

Thanks for your comments. I love hearing from you!

Entangled Teen Weekly

What Kind of Reviewer are You? Click on the banner to visit Ashley @ the Book Nook to find out.