Monday, May 7, 2012

The Daughters of Saraqael Series by Raine Thomas

Becoming (Daughters of Saraqael #1)
by Raine Thomas
Published July 2011 by Iambe Books

Description:  Every three years, Amber Hopkins explodes. Okay, not a blown-to-smithereens explosion, but whatever it is always hurts like hell and leaves her life a shambles. She’s already worked her way through five foster placements, and she’s doing whatever she can to avoid getting blasted into a sixth.

As her eighteenth birthday approaches and she feels the strange and powerful energy building, disaster looms. When the inevitable explosion occurs, her life gets its biggest shakeup yet. She’ll not only learn how her fellow foster and best friend, Gabriel, really feels about her, but she’ll discover that she isn’t really without family.

To top it all off, she’ll finally find out why she’s having the power surges: she isn’t entirely human.

Amber must Become, transitioning to another plane of existence and risking the loss of the most important relationship she’s ever had. Her choice will impact the future of an entire race of beings, and will pit her against an enemy that will prey upon her doubt to try and take her very life.

Kind of makes the explosions now seem like a cakewalk

My Thoughts:  Becoming is a wonderful read.  I loved Amber and Gabriel (swoon).  This is an enchanting first book in an amazing series.  I thought this was probably going to be another paranormal romance, which I love, but this book is so much more.  Raine Thomas has created a fantasy world that is amazing.  Amber finds herself transitioned into this world with the hottie Gabriel, only to find out there is a lot more to Gabriel than she tought.  A whole other plane of existence exists, and for Amber, everything changes.  The romance is great, there is some kick butt action, and Amber is quite the heroine.  This story is beautifully written and is filled with emotion. The imaginary Estilorian world that Raine Thomas has created is nothing short of brillant and I felt like I was in the middle of a fairy tale.  Becoming is a great beginning to a great series and I would highly recommend it. 

Central (The Daughters of Saraqael #2)
by Raine Thomas
Published July 2011 by Iambe books

Description:  For avid student Olivia Murdoch, life on the Estilorian plane is filled with wondrous adventure. Every lesson about her new existence is both exciting and challenging. Along with her sisters, she embraces this non-human half of herself.

Helping with her lessons is her Gloresti, James. Teacher, scholar and distractingly attractive, James takes on his roles of Olivia’s guide and protector with equal dedication. As he learns the human emotions that Estilorians no longer experience, he starts to see Olivia as much more than just an assigned pairing.

The physically weakest of her sisters, Olivia trains hard to learn things that no typical human classroom can impart. When they travel to “Central,” the Estilorian base, she comes to understand why she must become strong enough to defend herself. She and her sisters are targets.

Not all Estilorians welcome them. In fact, more than one would see them dead.

My Thoughts:  Central picks up where Becoming leaves off.  This book centers on Amber's sister Oliva.  Oliva, Amber, and Skye are triplets, the daughters of Saraquel, who transitioned from the human plane to the Estorilian plane when they turned 18.  I really love Oliva, and the relationship she develops with James, her Gloresti protector, is so romantic.  Central delves more into the realm of the Estilorians, and you learn more about the different classes and the history of the world Raine Thomas has created.  There is good versus evil, and the evil Mersceti forces will do whatever is necessary to see the daughters of Saraqael brought down.  The relationship between the sisters deepens and grows as they discover their love and bond to one another.  Romance blooms for Oliva, but it takes a life-threatening incident for James to realize how he feels about her.  Oliva must battle the forces of evil and draw upon a strength within herself she didn't know existed to survive.  Again, the fantasy world Raine has created continues to blow me away.  Central, the second book in the Daugters of Saraquel series is an amazing sequel to a brillant series.

Foretold (Daughers of Saraqael #3)
by Raine Thomas
Published July 2011 by Iambe Books

Description:  Centuries before she was born, Skye Tomaganuk was a subject of the most important prophecy in Estilorian history. As one of three half-human daughters born of the Corgloresti, Saraqael, she is part of the fulfillment of Knorbis’ Great Foretelling. What she doesn’t know is just what the Foretelling entails for her and her sisters.

As Skye and her sisters continue their training and visit each of the Estilorian class homelands, they soon learn how much impact their human emotions have on their father’s kind. Skye is particularly interested in the effect of emotions on her Gloresti, Caleb. Although she wants their relationship to progress beyond just that of protector and assignment, he proves particularly resistant to the idea.

She’ll soon have much more to worry about than a lack of romance, however. With the help of a traitor, Grolkinei infiltrates the Estilorian stronghold, imprisoning Skye’s mind and putting all Estilorians at risk. It leads them all toward the greatest battle of their kind, and puts Skye’s faith to the ultimate test.

My Thoughts:  The fairy tale continues in this third book of The Daughters of Saraqael Triology.  It centers around Skye, the third sister.  I have to say that I think Skye is my favorite of the sisters, though you can't help but love them all.  Skye is passionate and impulsive, and she gives her Gloresti protector Caleb a run for his money.  The romance continues to develop between Skye and Caleb, despite his resolve not to feel these human emotions.  Of course Caleb is quite the hottie to.  Skye's special abilities to see into the future prove very beneficial to the protection of not only the sisters, but the Estilorians as a whole.  Skye, her sisters, and their husbands and protectors join together with the elders to help protect the Estilorians from the onslaught of the evil Mercesti.  Grolkinei, the evil leader wants Skye desperately, and even visits her in her dreams.  A great battle ensues, as the prophecy regarding the sisters continues to unfold before their eyes.  The book is filled with action, passion, romance, mystery and fantasy.  This is an amazing third and final book in this series.  If you love fantasy and romance, then you will be amazed with Raine Thomas' Foretold. 

The Daughters of Saraqael triology is one of the best fantasy reads I've seen in a long time.  If you love romance, fantasy, and fairy tales with some really intense action and drama, then Foretold will not leave you disappointed.  This is a wonderful conclusion to an amazing series and I highly recommend it. 

Be sure to stop back by on Wednesday 5/9/12 for  my stop on the Defy Blog Tour featuring Raine Thomas' latest release.


  1. What a gorgeous blog!

    I've seen this series around, but this is the first review that really captured my attn for Becoming. It seems like it has some unique qualities and it's clear you enjoyed it.
    Great review!


Thanks for your comments. I love hearing from you!

Entangled Teen Weekly

What Kind of Reviewer are You? Click on the banner to visit Ashley @ the Book Nook to find out.