Monday, November 5, 2012

Blog Tour: Life and Death of Lily Drake - Review, Excerpt, and Giveaway

Welcome to my stop on the blog tour for T. Michelle Nelson's, the Life and Death of Lily Drake.  There is a great giveaway going on with this tour, for paperback and e-book copies of the book that is open to US, UK and Canada. which you can enter below.  

"Fans of Charlaine Harris and TRUE BLOOD will find much to enjoy in Michelle Nelson's cracking, sanguine debut. Dark, funny, audacious and written with a confidence that belies this as her first effort, LIFE AND DEATH OF LILY DRAKE dispenses with the idea that vampires are pasty, maudlin, emo-types and restores them to all their brutal bloodthirsty glory. And in terms of heroines to root for, I daresay Lily Drake gives poor 'ol Sookie a run for her money."


 Kealan Patrick Burke, Bram Stoker Award-Winning author of THE TURTLE BOY and KIN. 
For Lily Drake, slaying vampires is easy...
Dating them is the hard part.

Life and Death of Lily Drake
By T. Michelle Nelson
Publication Date:  October 2012
Source eARC.
Lily Drake is your everyday hard-working single mom…until a gorgeous vampire shows up on her front door who she mistakenly assumes is her blind date for the evening. As one crazy scenario after another unfolds, Lily finds herself falling in love with two vampires, slaying the evil ones, and being prophesied as the savior of the entire undead race.
Deciding between pizza and Chinese take-out will no longer be one of the hard decisions facing Lily Drake once she is immersed into vampire society. Humanity or immortality? That doesn't hold a candle against this question - which of the two handsome vampire cousins?

The Life and Death of Lily Drake is not your typical vampire love story. It’s a tale about the humorous mistakes a woman makes simply trying to survive not only life, but the dating scene.  How will Lily manage working full-time, taking care of her young son and fighting the undead at every turn?


Lily will have to figure it out, but who better to save the world than a mom?
My Thoughts:  Lily Drake is a 35-year-old, divorced mom.  She has a son, 12-year-old Keaton, who is her world.  She divorced her husband of 15 years after she found out he was cheating on her.  Since then, her best friend Angie has constantly been playing matchmaker and setting her up on blind dates, which Lily has absolutely no interest in.  After finally agreeing to one of these dates, Lily is perturbed when he arrives 20 minutes early.  When she opens the door, the man standing there could hold his own with any Greek god, and she is quite taken aback.  Thinking this is her date, she calls him Terry, and this man, who is really Mathias Sutton, just plays along.  As it turns out, her night with Mathias Sutton changes her life forever. You see, Mathias Sutton is a vampire, and a very hot one at that.  He and his "vampire family" have big plans for Lily.  The next thing Lily knows she is waking up in a strange bedroom in strange house. When she finds her way downstairs, not only does she find the man who kidnapped her, but he has a super hot guy beside him, along with several otherworldly men, and a beautiful lady who seems to be calling the shots.  They have a proposition for Lily, an eternal one, but first they have to convince her that they are who and what they say they are, and she is who they are telling her she is.  

This is just the beginning of Lily's adventure.  Not only must she choose whether or not to take them up on their proposition, but she has two of the hottest vamps on the planet interested in her.  What's a girl to do?  On top of that, rogue vamps are trying to kill her because of her destiny, and Lily doesn't take to that too kindly.  So, in response to her threat, she learns how to kick some rogue vampire butt, big time, with the help of her new friends.  When the threats take on a new level, and someone she loves dearly is involved, Lily is forced to finally make her choice regarding her immortality, and she also must choose between the two men she has come to love.  

This was a great book.  I really enjoyed it.  It is fast-paced, funny, and has some kick-butt action, not to mention some steamy romance.  I loved Lily's character.  She is really funny, has a great personality, and is pretty badass to.  Her love interests, cousins Mathias and Val, are both totally hot.  Mathias is more serious, where as Val is more laid back and fun loving.  Both of these guys are super hot, not to mention they are both pretty badass themselves.  I liked Rose also, and when her relationship to Lily is revealed, she will do anything and everything to protect her.  There were also several other characters that we fun to get to know.  The action and fight scenes are intense, yet the author also interjects humor into the situation, which makes this for a really entertaining read.  Overall, I thoroughly enjoyed this book.  Nelson has a different take on vampires that is fresh, unique, and very interesting.  If you are a vampire fan, you will enjoy this action-packed vampire story that is also filled with humor and hot romance, and one kick-butt heroine, who just happens to also be a mom.  


Excerpt:

Keaton, you with me, buddy? Lily heard a cough from the next room. Great job, baby. I need you to cause a distraction for me. Start screaming or crying, anything you can, but get them all to look at you and try to keep their attention. Don’t stop. I’m going to be coming in—and don’t watch what I do. I don’t want you to see this, okay, baby? Another cough. Go! Do it now, Keaton.

“You’re all gonna die! My mom’s gonna kill all of you! You, and you, and you! All you nasty-ass freaks!”

When Lily heard his screams, she cracked open the door, trusting the vampires would be looking at him, and squeezed through. His outburst wasn’t what she had in mind and she’d talk to him later about the language, but for the time being it seemed to be working.

The first vampire had no idea what hit him until his head flew across the room at eye level, grabbing the attention of the second guard. Number Two spun to meet Lily’s attack as she advanced. Rose’s sword had been working great, and made her feel like a complete pirate badass, until she saw the sword her newest opponent wielded.

It was twice the thickness of hers, and quite a bit longer. The man was significantly bigger than she, as well. It was apparent Lily didn’t have size or a superior weapon on her side.The vampire met each of her advances with one of his own. Metal clanged against metal as Keaton screamed at the top of his lungs about his mother exacting bloody revenge on each of his kidnappers. Random items around the warehouse were flung toward Leofric to keep him occupied by an invisible force; Lily knew it was Elizabeth. The crashing sheet metal and cardboard boxes flying through the air wouldn’t hurt the master vampire, but Lily hoped it unnerved him. It wasn’t the best-laid-out plan, but Lily began to have some hope it would actually work.

The vampire she fought was an expert swordsman. With every block Lily made, her arm weakened and his attacks seemed to get stronger. She wouldn’t be able to hold him for much longer. She studied him for a weakness, a chink in his armor, but his technique was flawless. He never left an opening for her.

“Let me guess…you were one of the three musketeers?” Lily tried to throw him off with her banter, to no avail. “Yeah, I doubted that anyway. You fight like a woman.”

Lily finally got a reaction from him. Anger raged across his face, turning it red, and his nostrils flared. She goaded him further.

“Oh, so you don’t like being called a woman? My guess is you probably don’t have much where it counts.” When the austere didn’t react, she added, “You get what I’m saying, right?

Your penis. It’s small. Minuscule.” With each stroke of her sword, she added another description. “Shriveled up. Limp noodle.”


About the Author:  When T. Michelle Nelson was a little girl she told people she was going to be a skeleton when she grew up. Most people assumed she confused the question with "What do you want to be for Halloween?" She doesn't remember, but thinks it's debatable either way. With her love of all things monster and horror, it's possible she actually did want to grow up to be a skeleton.  Years later, little has changed.  T. Michelle still loves her monsters, but now she writes about them.

Originally from Western Kentucky, T. Michelle is a graduate of Murray State University.  She now resides in picturesque Mount Vernon, Ohio, which is also the setting of her novel, The Life and Death of Lily Drake. When she isn't vicariously living through her characters, T. Michelle Nelson is a not-so-mild-mannered mother, semi-decent baker and lousy volleyball player.


Purchase Links

Author's Website  |  Facebook  |  Twitter




a Rafflecopter giveaway



21 comments:

  1. Great pace and a steamy romance? Sounds good to me! Really glad you enjoyed this. Thanks for sharing!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Thanks so much for the great review! I'm so glad you enjoyed my book.

    Have a great week,

    T. Michelle

    ReplyDelete
  3. Thanks for the excerpt, it really helps see if a book is one you want to read and this is one of them. Thanks for the giveaway.

    ReplyDelete
  4. This sounds great! Love the cover and the excerpt and especially reading your thoughts! I'm a big fan of True Blood, so I think I'll definitely need to add this one to the TBR. Thank you for sharing and for the awesome giveaway!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It is such a fun book. Thank you for stopping by!

      Delete
  5. I love reading about vampires and a kick-ass female! Thanks for the giveaway!
    Bonnie Hilligoss/bonhill@speakeasy.net

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Lilly certainly is a kick-ass female. Thank you for stopping by.

      Delete
  6. Replies
    1. It was really good. Thanks for visiting.

      Delete
  7. Thanks for the giveaway! The book looks really good!!! :D

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It was a really fun book. Thanks for visiting!

      Delete
  8. Hi,
    This sounds really good. Thank you for the giveaway.
    Jenn

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It is a fun book. Thanks for checking it out.

      Delete
  9. Cool looking cover story sounds fun too.
    rierie11booger (@) yahoo.com

    ReplyDelete
  10. Sounds like a twist on all the vampire stories now. Interesting.

    ReplyDelete
  11. This is a new title for me and sounds like a real hoot of a read. Thank you so much for sharing and for the lovely giveaway opportunity.

    ReplyDelete

Thanks for your comments. I love hearing from you!

Entangled Teen Weekly


What Kind of Reviewer are You? Click on the banner to visit Ashley @ the Book Nook to find out.