Saturday, June 29, 2013

Review: Spartan Frost by Jennifer Estep


Spartan Frost (Mythos Academy 4.5)
by Jennifer Estep
Publication Date:  June 25, 2013
Publisher:  Kensington Publishing Company
Source:  Publisher/NetGalley

Estep blends the perfect amount of action, romance and comedy. --"RT Book Reviews " I'm Logan Quinn, the deadliest Spartan warrior at Mythos Academy. At least I was--until the day I almost killed Gwen Frost.

Professor Metis and Nickamedes say that I'm fine, that Loki and the Reapers don't have a hold on me anymore, but I can't risk it. I can't risk hurting Gwen again. So I'm leaving Mythos and going somewhere far, far away.

I know Gwen wonders what's happening to me, whether I'm safe. I can't tell her, but this is my story. . .

Praise for the Mythos Academy Series

"The strongest installment thus far--Estep delivers." --"Library Journal "on "Dark Frost"

"Lots of twists and turns and a surprise ending will leave the reader breathless!" --"RT Book Reviews "on "Kiss of Frost, 4 Stars "

""Recommended for fans of Richelle Mead, Rachel Hawkins and P.C. Cast." --"NocturneReads" "

""Ms. Estep's Mythos Academy is sure to appeal to all those who love a good character-driven YA that uses humor, snark, and seriousness to create a world you won't want to leave." --Heroes &Heartbreakers "

""It has literally everything: mystery, romance, mythology, boarding schools. What could be better?" --Simply Nerdy Book Reviews on "Touch of Frost"

Goodreads  |  Amazon  |  Barnes and Noble

My Thoughts:  I love Jennifer Estep's Mythos Academy Series.  Spartan Frost is a short novella which is actually told from Logan's point of view.  Logan Quinn is the Spartan hottie who is Gwen, the main character's boyfriend.  The story begins immediately after the events that occurred in Crimson Frost.  Distraught, ashamed, guilty, and angry at himself, Loki, his stepmother and the reapers, Logan can't face Gwen or his friends, so he has left with his father.  In Spartan Frost we get a glimpse inside Logan's head and get his perspective on the things that happen, how he is feeling now, and what how he plans to go forward.  Of course, they are always reapers to battle.  As this novella ends, story begins to unfold and lead into the next installment, Midnight Frost.  Spartan Frost is quick read that lives up to the expectations fans of Jennifer Estep have come to expect from this series.  I am looking forward to diving into Midnight Frost and seeing where she takes the story from here.

Jennifer Blog Tour and Giveaway: Crimson Frost by Jennifer Estep Excerpt

About the Author:
Jennifer Estep is a New York Times bestselling author. Jennifer writes the Mythos Academy young adult urban fantasy series for Kensington. Crimson Frost, the fourth book, will be released on Dec. 24. Visit www.jenniferestep.com for excerpts and more information about her books.











8 comments:

  1. I loved this one too! I love Logan! Midnight Frost is fantastic, you are going to love LOVE it!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I am starting it soon. I wish I had the time to jump right into it, but have to knock out a few tour books first. Dying to read it.

      Delete
  2. This is a series I've been meaning to start forever. I even have Touch of Frost. I'm glad you liked Spartan Frost, Ellen!

    ReplyDelete
  3. I really liked getting to see Logan. I can't wait to start Midnight frost too. Great review.

    Jenea @ Books Live Forever

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I am really looking forward to Midnight Frost to.

      Delete
  4. I really need to read this series, It sounds like one I'd quite enjoy.

    A great review! :-)

    ReplyDelete

Thanks for your comments. I love hearing from you!

Entangled Teen Weekly


What Kind of Reviewer are You? Click on the banner to visit Ashley @ the Book Nook to find out.